Manga: Shin Angyo Onshi
Mangaka: Young In-Wan(Story), Yang Kyung-Il(Art)
Publisher: Carlsen Manga (Germany)
Original Publisher: Shogakukan
Published in: Sunday Gene-X
Price: 6,50€
Released so far: Volume 1-5
Release Schedule: Bi-monthly
Additional Information: Complete with 17 Volumes

After reading volume 1-4 my expectations for volume 5 were very high. Much to my relief volume 5 kept still kept the high level of historical background, fantastic and fluent art, as well as a exciting story. This is definitely one of the Manga which just gets better and better.

Kyung-Il, whose amazing art I already was able to enjoy in their first(?) cooperation Island, does a very good job with his art. His ability to capture and express emotions through it as well as his sense for creating exciting fights rivals the skills of every great Japanese Mangaka. For me the only disappointment in volume 5 were the colored pages. This time they didn’t manga don’t impress me, because of their bright and more light design. I think a bigger publishing format, instead of the “normal” 18cm x 12.4cm, would suit the art more and bring forth the details better…and I would love to have a poster of that cover…

The Manga continues with its episodic structure and the story background is still provided by Korean folktales. I really appreciate the explanation they give at the end of each “tale” or “classic. I find that information very interesting as it shows how the author changed it and for me that adds authenticity to the story.

Art: 6 – minus 1 because of the not that impressing colored pages, they are too lighthearted and too bright for me.
Story: 7 – The stories gave a tiny peek into Munso’s heart and more of Sando’s true strength is shown and we finally get a glimpse of Ajite and his “Sando”. I want MOAR!
Enjoyment: 6 – We get introduced to Ajite and his Sando; Munsu’s and Sando’s characters get developed more as well, I still don’t know what the “dwarf”‘s role is…except annoying me.
Overall: 6+

Comment: The typesetting seems fine, as well as the actual translation and editing. The paper quality is the usual standard for German releases, what I do hate though are the occasionally cropped pages…where a bubble is severed and one forth of it is missing.